

Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency

P.O. Box 1192, Yellowknife, NT X1A 2R2 • Phone (867) 669 9141 • Fax (867) 669 9145 Website: www.monitoringagency.net • Email: <u>monitor1@yk.com</u>

October 17, 2014

To: Society Members

<u>Akaitcho Treaty 8:</u> Łutsel K'e Dene First Nation: Chief Felix Lockhart, Mike Tollis Yellowknives Dene First Nation: Chief Edward Sangris, Chief Ernest Betsina, Todd Slack <u>Dominion Diamond Ekati Corp.</u>: Bob Overvold, Eric Denholm <u>Federal Government</u>: Stephen Traynor <u>Government of the Northwest Territories</u>: Kate Witherly <u>Kitikmeot Inuit Association</u>: President Charlie Evalik, Geoff Clark <u>North Slave Métis Alliance</u>: President Bill Enge, Matt Hoover <u>Tlîchô Government</u>: Grand Chief Eddie Erasmus, Chief Clifford Daniels, Chief David Wedawin, Chief Johnny Arrowmaker, Chief Alfonz Nitsiza, Sjoerd Van Der Wielen (Lands Protection Department)

Re: Notice of Annual General Meeting of the Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency – Thursday December 4, 2014

We are pleased to announce the 2014 Annual General Meeting of the Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency to be held on the morning of Thursday December 4, 2014. The meeting will be held in the Agency's boardroom between 9 am and 2 pm, including a lunch buffet when the meeting is finished. We have also scheduled an afternoon session for our Aboriginal Society Members to meet with Agency Directors and staff to discuss any issues or concerns immediately following the Annual General Meeting.

The Annual General Meeting presents an important opportunity for the Directors of the Agency to report activities of the past year and receive advice from the Members for the coming year. This year, there will be an environmental workshop the day before and we are working with DDEC to finalize a topic and agenda which will be passed along as soon as possible.

The bylaws of the Agency require a quorum of five Members for the Annual General Meeting; including representation from three of the Aboriginal Members. Therefore we request that you confirm your attendance at your earliest possible convenience. Please contact me at monitor1@yk.com or (867) 669-9141 to RSVP, with any concerns or comments regarding the attached agenda, or any other matters. Please let us know as soon as possible whether you or your organization will need translation services, so we can make the necessary arrangements.

We look forward to meeting with you all in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kokely

Kevin O'Reilly Executive Director

NOTICE of the **Annual General Meeting**

For Members and Directors of the

Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency

Time and Date: Thursday December 4, 2014 from 9 am to 2 pm (including a lunch buffet)

Location: Agency Boardroom (Suite 203, 5006 Franklin Avenue, Yellowknife--down the hall from the old Our Place restaurant, most recently known as The Champagne Room)

Society Members: The seven members of the Society are the following organizations and agencies:

- 1. Tłîchô Government
- 2. Akaitcho Treaty 8 (specifically, the Yellowknives Dene First Nation and the Łutsel K'e Dene First Nation)
- 3. North Slave Métis Alliance
- 4. Kitikmeot Inuit Association
- 5. Dominion Diamond Ekati Corp.
- 6. Government of Canada
- 7. Government of the Northwest Territories

Environmental Agreement: The Environmental Agreement requires the Monitoring Agency to report annually on its findings and recommendations. The thirteenth Annual Report will be presented at the Annual General Meeting.

Bylaws of the Society: The Bylaws of the Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency Society require that:

- The Board of Directors shall consist of seven (7) directors and the directors, who shall not act in a representative capacity, shall be appointed at the annual general meeting;
- The Annual General Meeting of the Members of the Society shall be held on a date, at a time, and in a place to be determined by the Board of Directors. Notice of the meeting shall be sent to all Members at least thirty (30) days prior to the meeting;
- A quorum at special or general meetings of the Society is five members, three of whom are Aboriginal Peoples. The Society shall strive to make decisions by consensus at all meetings of the Society and its Board of Directors. Where consensus cannot be achieved, decisions will be made by majority vote;
- The fiscal year of the Society shall end on March 31st of each year. At each Annual General Meeting the Secretary-Treasurer shall present the Auditor's signed financial statement detailing assets, liabilities, receipts and disbursements for the previous financial year. Each Annual General Meeting of the Society shall appoint an Auditor for the ensuing fiscal year; and,
- The minutes of the Society may be inspected by any Member of the Society at the Annual General Meeting, or at the Head Office of the Society at any time during normal business hours.

Draft Agenda for the Annual General Meeting of the

Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency

Thursday December 4, 2014 9:00 am – 2:00 pm

Location: Agency Boardroom (Suite 203, 5006 Franklin Avenue, Yellowknife)

1. Opening Prayer 2. Welcome and Agenda Review Bill Ross. Chairperson 3. Chairperson's Address Bill Ross, Chairperson 4. Approval of Summary of the 2013 AGM 5. Presentation of Annual Report Tim Byers, **Vice-Chairperson Refreshment Break** 6. Treasurer's Report Jaida Ohokannoak, • Auditors Financial Statement 2013-14 Secretary-Treasurer • 2014-2016 Work Plan and Budget • Appointment of Auditor 7. Members' Presentations and Discussion Members • Members' Comments • Recommendations to Directors 8. Agency Communications 9. Other Business 10. Closing Remarks Bill Ross, Chairperson 11. Closing Prayer 12. Adjournment

Catered Lunch (fish, salad)

Optional Aboriginal Society Members Meeting with Directors and staff (2-4 pm)