

Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency

P.O. Box 1192, Yellowknife, NT X1A 2R2 • Phone (867) 669 9141 • Fax (867) 669 9145 Website: www.monitoringagency.net • Email: monitor@yk.com

December 4, 2003

Society Members

Dogrib Treaty 11 Council Kitikmeot Inuit Association Lutsel K'e First Nation North Slave Metis Alliance Yellowknives Dene First Nation BHP Billiton Diamonds Inc. Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development Department of Resources, Wildlife and Economic Development

Re: Notice of Changes to the IEMA Executive

As per our by-laws, the Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency (IEMA) has completed its annual appointment of Executive officials. In view of Mr. Red Pedersen's recent retirement as a Board Member and the Chairperson of the IEMA, Bill Ross has been appointed the new IEMA Chairperson. Bill Ross formerly occupied the position of Vice-Chairperson. Tim Byers has been appointed the new IEMA Vice-Chairperson and Francois Messier remains as Secretary-Treasurer.

IEMA takes this opportunity to express our sincere appreciation to Red Pedersen for the years of advice, wisdom and vast experience he has brought to our Board. We wish him the best in his retirement.

Our new Chairperson will continue the tradition set by Red and invites members to feel comfortable contacting him directly on matters related to the Environment Agreement. He can be reached at:

Bill Ross Phone: (403) 220-6961 e-mail: ross@ucalgary.ca

The Executive and Board directors look forward to another year of working with you to monitor and improve the environmental management of Ekati.

Sincerely,

-ORIGINAL SIGNED BY-

Carole Mills Manager

Cc: IACT members