**BHP Billiton Diamonds Inc.** 



BHP Billiton Diamonds Inc. #1102 4920-52<sup>nd</sup> Street Yellowknife NT Canada X1A 3T1 Tel 867 669 9292 Fax 867 669 9293 bhpbilliton.com

19 February 2007

North Slave Metis Alliance P.O. Box 2301 Yellowknife, NT X1A 2P7

Attention: Sheryl Grieve Manager, Land and Environment

Dear Ms. Grieve

## Re: NSMA Comments on BHP Billiton Air Dispersion Modelling and Air Quality Monitoring

Thank you for your comments on the EKATI Air Monitoring Program. BHP Billiton will take them into consideration during the revision to the existing program at EKATI which is currently underway.

We wish to provide clarification with regards to whom comments on EKATI's Air Quality programs should be directed to in response to your recent letter which was submitted to the Wek'eezhii Land and Water Board. Air quality monitoring at EKATI is conducted under the Environmental Agreement. The appropriate regulators are located at the Air Quality Program at ENR and the Air Pollution Program at Environment Canada.

With regard to consultation, the Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency is not responsible for consultation regarding monitoring programs at EKATI, as this responsibility rests with BHP Billiton. If the North Slave Metis Alliance has any questions regarding the Air Monitoring Program at EKATI, BHP Billiton would be pleased to meet with your group to discuss your concerns. We would further suggest inviting Graham Veale the Air Quality Program Coordinator at ENR and Dave Fox the Air Pollution Management Analyst at Environment Canada to attend. We are in the midst of discussing the air program with these agencies and would be pleased to have your groups input during these discussions.

We trust that the above information meet with your requirements at this time. If you have any questions or would like to arrange a meeting please feel free to contact me at 867-880-2232 or 867-445-1517.

Yours truly, BHP Billiton Diamonds Inc.

Brent Murphy, M.Sc., P.Geol. Chief Environmental Officer – Operations EKATI Diamond Mine

cc. Bill Ross – IEMA, Graham Veale – ENR, Dave Fox – Environment Canada Sarah Baines - WLWB Rachel Crapeau- Yellowknives Dene First Nation Monica Krieger- Lustelk'e First Nation Eddie Erasmus- Tli Cho Government David Livingstone- Indian and Northern Affairs Canada