

<u> Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency</u>

P.O. Box 1192, Yellowknife, NT X1A 2N8 • Phone (867) 669 9141 • Fax (867) 669 9145 Website: www.monitoringagency.net • Email: monitor1@yk.com

October 4, 2004

To: Society Members

Akaitcho Treaty 8:

Lutsel K'e Dene First Nation - Chief Archie Catholique, Pete Enzo

Yellowknives Dene First Nation - Chief Darrell Beaulieu, Chief Peter Liske, Rachel Crapeau

BHP Billiton Diamonds Inc: President Wayne Isaacs, David Scott, Chris Hanks

<u>Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development</u>: Robert Overvold, David Livingstone, Tamara Hamilton

<u>Dogrib Treaty 11 Council:</u> Grand Chief Joe Rabesca, Chief Clifford Daniels, Chief Joseph Judas, Chief Archie Wetrade, Chief Charlie J. Nitsiza, Eddie Erasmus (Chair, LPC)

Government of the Northwest Territories: Hon. Brendan Bell, M.L.A., Dorris Eggers, Gavin More Kitikmeot Inuit Association: President Charlie Evalik, Jack Kaniak, Geoff Clarke

North Slave Metis Alliance: President Sholto Douglas, Kris Johnson

Re: Notice of Annual General Meeting of the Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency – Friday November 5th, 2004

Dear Members:

We are pleased to announce the 2004 Annual General Meeting of the Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency to be held on the afternoon of November 5th, 2004. The meeting will be held in the Agency's boardroom between 1 p.m. and 4:30 p.m. and be preceded by a lunch buffet beginning at noon.

The Annual General Meeting presents an important opportunity for the Directors of the Agency to report on the past years' activities and receive direction from the Members for the next two years' work plan and budget.

The bylaws of the Agency require a quorum of five Members for the Annual General Meeting; including representation from three of the Aboriginal Members. Therefore we request that you confirm your attendance at your earliest possible convenience. Please contact me at monitor1@yk.com or (867) 669-9141 to RSVP, with any concerns or comments regarding the attached agenda, or any other matters.

We look forward to meeting with you all in the near future,

Sincerely,

-ORIGINAL SIGNED BY-

Carole Mills, Manager

NOTICE of the Annual General Meeting

For Members and Directors of the

Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency

Time and Date: Friday November 5th, 2004 from 1:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. (lunch buffet at noon)

Location: Agency Boardroom

Society Members: The seven members of the Society include the following organizations and agencies:

- 1. Dogrib Treaty 11 Council
- 2. Akaitcho Treaty 8 (specifically, the Yellowknives Dene First Nation and the Lutsel K'e First Nation)
- 3. North Slave Metis Alliance
- 4. Kitikmeot Inuit Association
- 5. BHP Billiton Diamonds Inc.
- 6. Government of Canada
- 7. Government of the Northwest Territories

Environmental Agreement: The Environmental Agreement requires the Monitoring Agency to report annually on its findings and recommendations. The seventh Annual Report will be presented at the Annual General Meeting.

Bylaws of the Society: the Bylaws of the Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency Society require that:

- The Board of Directors shall consist of seven (7) directors and the directors, who shall not act in a representative capacity, shall be appointed at the annual general meeting;
- The Annual General Meeting of the Members of the Society shall be held on a date, at a time, and in a place to be determined by the Board of Directors. Notice of the meeting shall be sent to all Members at least thirty (30) days prior to the meeting;
- A quorum at special or general meetings of the Society is five members, three of whom are Aboriginal Peoples. The Society shall strive to make decisions by consensus at all meetings of the Society and its Board of Directors. Where consensus can not be achieved, decisions will be made by majority vote;
- The fiscal year of the Society shall end on March 31st of each year. At each Annual General Meeting the Secretary-Treasurer shall present the Auditor's signed financial statement detailing assets, liabilities, receipts and disbursements for the previous fiscal-year. Each Annual General Meeting of the Society shall appoint an Auditor for the ensuing fiscal year; and,
- The minutes of the Society may be inspected by any Member of the Society at the Annual General Meeting, or at the Head Office of the Society at any time during normal business hours.

Agenda for the Annual General Meeting of the

Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency

November 5th, 2004 1:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Location: Agency Boardroom

Opening Prayer

Welcome Bill Ross, Chairperson's Address Chairperson

Presentation of Annual Report

Treasurer's Report François Messier,
Auditors Financial Statement 2003-2004 Secretary-Treasurer

Appointment of Auditor

2005-2007 Work-plan and Budget **Directors**

Members' Presentations and Discussion Members

Members' Comments
Direction to Directors

Other Business

Closing Remarks

Bill Ross,
Chairperson

Adjournment