

BHP Billiton Diamonds Inc.

Operator of the EKATI Diamond Mine

resourcing the future

BHP Billiton Diamonds Inc. #1102 4920-52rd Street Yellowknile NT Canada X1A 3T1 Tel 867 669 9292 Fax 867 669 9293 bhobilition.com

February 18, 2009

File # 4.6.2.1

Fish Habitat Management, Western Arctic Area Central and Arctic Region Fisheries & Oceans Canada Suite 101, 5204-50th Ave Yellowknife NT, X1A 1E2

Attention: Bruce Hanna

Re. EKATI Diamond Mine 2007 Nero-Nema Stream and Panda Diversion Channel Monitoring Program Reports

Dear Mr. Hanna:

BHP Billiton Diamonds Inc. (BHP Billiton) is pleased to submit the above mentioned reports to Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO).

The Panda Diversion Channel Monitoring Program 2007, Summary Report, Volume I – Technical Report and Volume II - Appendices (PDC Report), was previously delivered to the DFO. This report was submitted under the Fisheries Authorization SCA96021 and represents the 9th year of monitoring in a 10 year program.

The Nero-Nema Stream Monitoring Report Monitoring Program 2007 Data Report is provided with this letter. The Nero-Nema report is submitted under the Fisheries Authorization SC01168. Habitat compensation was completed in Nero-Nema Stream between 2005 and 2007. The 2007 Data Report provides a second year of baseline study on which the subsequent monitoring of the compensation will be based.

If you have any questions regarding these reports please contact the undersigned.

Sincerely,

BHP Billiton Diamonds Inc.

Dave R. Abernethy

Environment Superintendent - Operations

EKATI Diamond Mine

cc: see attached distribution list

DISTRIBUTION LIST

BHP Billiton 2007 PDC and Nero-Nema Stream Reports

Charlie Evalik - President, Kitikmeot Inuit Association

Geoff Clark - Director of Lands, Environment, and Resources, Kitikmeot Inuit Association

Bill Enge - President, North Slave Métis Alliance

Sheryl Grieve - Environmental Manager, North Slave Métis Alliance

George Mackenzie - Grand Chief, Tlicho Government

Leon Lafferty - Behchokö Chief, Tlicho Government

Charlie Football - Wekweètì Chief, Tlicho Government

Henry Gon - Gamèti Chief, Tlicho Government

Charlie J. Nitsiza - Whati Chief, Tlicho Government

Eddie Erasmus - Director, Lands Protection, Tlicho Government

Steve Nitah - Chief Lutsel K'e Dene First Nation

Sonya Almond – Manager (Acting), Wildlife Lands & Environment Committee, Lutsel K'e Dene First Nation

Fred Sangris - Chief Yellowknives Dene First Nation, Ndilo

Ed Sangris - Chief Yellowknives Dene First Nation, Dettah

Todd Slack - TE GIS, Yellowknife Dene First Nation

Kevin O'Reilly - Manager, Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency

Anne Wilson - Water Pollution Specialist, Environment Canada

Lionel Marcinkoski - Environmental Scientist, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada - Environment and Conservation

Robert Jenkins – Head, Water Regulatory and Science Advice Section - Water Resources Division, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada

Kathy Racher - Regulatory Director, Wek'èezhìi Land and Water Board

Gavin More - Manager, Environmental Assessment and Monitoring - Environment and Natural

Resources, Government of Northwest Territories