

Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency

P.O. Box 1192, Yellowknife, NT X1A 2R2 • Phone (867) 669 9141 • Fax (867) 669 9145 Website: www.monitoringagency.net • Email: monitor1@yk.com

March 17, 2014

To: Society Members

Akaitcho Treaty 8:

Łutsel K'e Dene First Nation - Chief Dora Enzoe, Mike Tollis

Yellowknives Dene First Nation - Chief Edward Sangris, Chief Ernest Betsina, Todd Slack

Dominion Diamond Ekati Corp.: Brendan Bell, Richard Bargery

Government of Canada: Robert Jenkins, Lindsay Armer

Government of the Northwest Territories: Dr. Ray Case

<u>Kitikmeot Inuit Association:</u> President Charlie Evalik, Geoff Clark <u>North Slave Métis Alliance:</u> President Bill Enge, Eric Binion

<u>Tlîchô Government:</u> Grand Chief Eddie Erasmus, Kerri Garner (Lands Protection Department)

Re: Notice of Special Meeting of the Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency – Tuesday March 25, 2014

The Board of Directors of the Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency has decided to call a Special Meeting of the Agency Society Members as permitted under s. 7.2 or our By-laws. The purpose of the Special Meeting is to discuss the proposed changes to the Environmental Agreement for the Ekati Mine.

The Government of Canada, Government of the NWT and Dominion Diamond Ekati Corp. have proposed changes to the Environmental Agreement as a result of devolution of management of lands and resources to the territorial government. The proposed changes were copied to the Agency on January 30, 2014. The Agency provided these proposed changes to all of our Society members by e-mail on February 3, 2014 and indicated that we would keep all the Society members informed of further developments.

The Agency Directors met with AANDC, GNWT and DDEC representatives on March 12, 2014 to discuss the proposed changes to the Environmental Agreement. We agreed to provide our comments in writing and have attached those for your information, along with a copy of the proposed changes. The Agency Directors decided we should call a Special Meeting of the Society members to ensure we provide the best possible advice to the signatories of the Environmental Agreement (Government of Canada, Government of the NWT and Dominion Diamond Ekati Corp.) as we move forward.

We look forward to meeting with you next week. If you have any questions, please contact our Executive Director, Kevin O'Reilly at 867-669-9141 or by e-mail monitor1@yk.com.

Sincerely,

Bill Ross Chairperson

Attachments: AANDC Letter of January 30, 2014 (with proposed changes to the Environmental Agreement)

Agency Letter of March 17, 2014 with comments on the proposed changes

NOTICE of the **Special Meeting**

For Members and Directors of the

Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency

Time and Date: Tuesday March 25, 2014 1:30 pm

Location: Agency Boardroom (Suite 203, 5006 Franklin Avenue, Yellowknife--down the hall from the old Our Place restaurant, most recently known as The Champagne Room) and by **teleconference** (details below)

Society Members: The seven members of the Society are the following organizations and agencies:

- 1. Tłîchô Government
- 2. Akaitcho Treaty 8 (specifically, the Yellowknives Dene First Nation and the Łutsel K'e Dene First Nation)
- 3. North Slave Métis Alliance
- 4. Kitikmeot Inuit Association
- 5. Dominion Diamond Ekati Corp.
- 6. Government of Canada
- 7. Government of the Northwest Territories

Purpose of the Meeting: To discuss the proposed changes to the Environmental Agreement in light of devolution.

Bylaws of the Society: The Bylaws of the Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency Society specify that:

Section 7.2 Special meetings of the Society may be called at any time by the Chairperson of the Board of Directors or upon the request of any four (4) Members of the Society. Written notice of special meetings shall be given at least seven (7) days prior to the meeting, and shall specify the purpose of the meeting.

Teleconference Details: To discuss the proposed changes to the Environmental Agreement in light of devolution.

Call-in Number: 1-866-969-8429 Conference ID: 547-6576

If you experience any difficulty, please call Kevin O'Reilly at 867-669-9141 or 867-765-8762

Draft Agenda for the Special Meeting of the

Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency

Tuesday March 25, 2014 1:30 pm

Location: Agency Boardroom (Suite 203, 5006 Franklin Avenue, Yellowknife) and by teleconference

1. Welcome and Agenda Review

Bill Ross, Agency Chairperson

_ _

2. Presentation on the Proposed Changes to the Environmental Agreement

AANDC and GNWT

3. Agency Views on the Proposed Changes

Bill Ross,

Agency Chairperson

4. Discussion, Questions and Answers

ALL

5. Closing Remarks

ALL

Teleconference Details: To discuss the proposed changes to the Environmental Agreement in light of devolution.

Call-in Number: 1-866-969-8429 Conference ID: 547-6576

If you experience any difficulty, please call Kevin O'Reilly at 867-669-9141 or 867-765-8762