

Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency

Website: www.monitoringagency.net Email: monitor@yk.com

September 11th, 2003

#### **Society Members**

<u>Akaitcho Treaty 8:</u> Lutsel K'e Dene First Nation - Chief Archie Catholique, Charlie Catholique Yellowknives Dene First Nation - Chief Darrel Beaulieu, Chief Peter Liske, Rachel Crapeau <u>BHP Billiton Diamonds Inc</u>: President Jim Excell, Ian Goodwin <u>Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development</u>: Hon. Robert Nault M.P., David Livingstone, Eric Yaxley <u>Dogrib Treaty 11 Council</u>: Grand Chief Joe Rabesca, Chief Eddie Rabesca, Chief Joseph Judas, Chief Archie Wetrade, Chief Charlie J. Nitsiza, Eddie Erasmus (Chair, LPC) <u>Government of the Northwest Territories</u>: Hon. Jim Antoine M.L.A., Bob McLeod, Dorris Eggers <u>Kitikmeot Inuit Association</u>: President Charlie Evalik, Jack Kaniak North Slave Metis Alliance: President North Douglas. Bob Turner

# Re: Notice of Annual General Meeting of the Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency – Tuesday October 28<sup>th</sup>, 2003

#### **Dear Members:**

We are pleased to announce the 2003 Annual General Meeting of the Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency to be held on the morning of October 28<sup>th</sup>, 2003. The meeting will be held in the Agency's boardroom between 9 a.m. and 12 noon followed by a lunch buffet.

The Annual General Meeting presents an important opportunity for the Directors of the Agency to report on the past years activities and receive direction from the Members for the coming year.

The bylaws of the Agency require a quorum of five Members for the Annual General Meeting; including representation from three of the Aboriginal Members. Therefore we request that you confirm your attendance with me at your earliest possible convenience. Please contact me at <u>monitor@yk.com</u> or (867) 669-9141 with any concerns or comments regarding the attached agenda or any other matters.

We look forward to meeting with you all in the near future,

Sincerely,

-ORIGINAL SIGNED BY-

Carole Mills Manager

### **NOTICE** of the **Annual General Meeting**

For Members and Directors of the

#### Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency

Time and Date: Tuesday, October 28th, 2003 from 9:00 a.m. to noon

Location: Agency's Boardroom

Society Members: The seven members of the Society include the following organizations and agencies:

- 1. Dogrib Treaty 11 Council
- 2. Akaitcho Treaty 8 (specifically, the Yellowknives Dene First Nation and the Lutsel'ke First Nation)
- 3. North Slave Metis Alliance
- 4. Kitikmeot Inuit Association
- 5. BHP Billiton Diamonds Inc.
- 6. Government of Canada
- 7. Government of the Northwest Territories

**Environmental Agreement:** The Environmental Agreement requires the Monitoring Agency to report annually on its findings and recommendations. The sixth Annual Report will be presented at the Annual General Meeting.

Bylaws of the Society: the Bylaws of the Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency Society require that:

- The Board of Directors shall consist of seven (7) directors and the directors, who shall not act in a representative capacity, shall be appointed at the annual general meeting;
- The Annual General Meeting of the Members of the Society shall be held on a date, at a time, and in a place to be determined by the Board of Directors. Notice of the meeting shall be sent to all Members at least thirty (30) days prior to the meeting;
- A quorum at special or general meetings of the Society is five members, three of whom are Aboriginal Peoples. The Society shall strive to make decisions by consensus at all meetings of the Society and its Board of Directors. Where consensus can not be achieved, decisions will be made by majority vote;
- The fiscal year of the Society shall end on March 31<sup>st</sup> of each year. At each Annual General Meeting the Secretary-Treasurer shall present the Auditor's signed financial statement detailing assets, liabilities, receipts and disbursements for the previous fiscal-year. Each Annual General Meeting of the Society shall appoint an Auditor for the ensuing fiscal year; and,
- The minutes of the Society may be inspected by any Member of the Society at the Annual General Meeting, or at the Head Office of the Society at any time during normal business hours.

## Agenda for the Annual General Meeting of the

# Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency

October 28<sup>th</sup>, 2003 9:00 a.m. - noon

Location: Agency Boardroom

**Opening Prayer** 

Welcome

Chairperson's Address

Presentation of Annual Report

Treasurer's Report

- Auditors Financial Statement 2002-2003
- 2003-2004 Work-plan and Budget
- Appointment of Auditor

Members' Presentations and Discussion

- Members' Comments
- Direction to Directors

Other Business

Closing Remarks

Adjournment

Buffet Lunch

Red Pedersen, Chairperson

Red Pedersen, Chairperson

Bill Ross Vice-Chairperson

#### François Messier,

Secretary-Treasurer

Red Pedersen, Chairperson

Members