

<u> Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency</u>

P.O. Box 1192, Yellowknife, NT X1A 2R2 Phone (867) 669 9141 Fax (867) 669 9145 Website: www.monitoringagency.net Email: monitor1@vk.com

September 26, 2006

To: Society Members

Akaitcho Treaty 8:

Lutsel K'e First Nation – Chief Adeline Jonasson, Monica Krieger Yellowknives Dene First Nation - Chief Fred Sangris, Chief Peter Liske, Rachel Crapeau <u>BHP Billiton Diamonds Inc</u>: President Sean Brennan, David Scott, Jane Howe <u>Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development</u>: Hon. Jim Prentice M.P., David Livingstone, Lionel Marcinkoski

Government of the Northwest Territories: Hon. Michael Miltenberger, M.L.A., Dorris Eggers Kitikmeot Inuit Association: President Donald Havioyak, Geoff Clarke, Jack Kaniak North Slave Metis Alliance: President Bill Enge, Keith Hamilton, Val Meeres Tlicho Government: Grand Chief George Mackenzie, Chief Leon Lafferty, Chief Charlie Football, Chief Henry Gon, Chief Charlie J. Nitsiza, Eddie Erasmus (Chair, LPC)

Re: Notice of Annual General Meeting of the Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency – Thursday November 2, 2006

We are pleased to announce the 2006 Annual General Meeting of the Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency to be held on the morning of Thursday November 2, 2006. The meeting will be held in the Agency's boardroom between 9 am and 12:30 pm, followed by a lunch buffet beginning at noon or when the meeting is finished. As an added attraction, representatives of the Kitikmeot Inuit Association have agreed to make a presentation, at the end of the AGM, on their award-winning Naonayaotit Traditional Knowledge Project (NTKP). We have also scheduled an afternoon session for our Aboriginal Society Members to meet with the Agency Directors to discuss any issues or concerns.

The Annual General Meeting presents an important opportunity for the Directors of the Agency to report on the past years activities and receive advice from the Members for the coming year.

The bylaws of the Agency require a quorum of five Members for the Annual General Meeting; including representation from three of the Aboriginal Members. Therefore we request that you confirm your attendance at your earliest possible convenience. Please contact me at monitor1@yk.com or (867) 669-9141 to RSVP, with any concerns or comments regarding the attached agenda, or any other matters. Please let us know as soon as possible whether you or your organization will need translation services, so we can make the necessary arrangements.

We look forward to meeting with you all in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin O'Reilly, Manager

NOTICE of the Annual General Meeting

For Members and Directors of the

Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency

Time and Date: Thursday November 2, 2006 from 9 am to 12:30 pm (lunch buffet when meeting is finished)

Location: Agency Boardroom (Suite 203, 5006 Franklin Avenue, Yellowknife--down the hall from Our Place restaurant)

Society Members: The seven members of the Society include the following organizations and agencies:

- 1. Tlicho Government
- 2. Akaitcho Treaty 8 (specifically, the Yellowknives Dene First Nation and the Lutsel K'e First Nation)
- 3. North Slave Metis Alliance
- 4. Kitikmeot Inuit Association
- 5. BHP Billiton Diamonds Inc.
- 6. Government of Canada
- 7. Government of the Northwest Territories

Environmental Agreement: The Environmental Agreement requires the Monitoring Agency to report annually on its findings and recommendations. The ninth Annual Report will be presented at the Annual General Meeting.

Bylaws of the Society: the Bylaws of the Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency Society require that:

- The Board of Directors shall consist of seven (7) directors and the directors, who shall not act in a representative capacity, shall be appointed at the annual general meeting;
- The Annual General Meeting of the Members of the Society shall be held on a date, at a time, and in a place to be determined by the Board of Directors. Notice of the meeting shall be sent to all Members at least thirty (30) days prior to the meeting;
- A quorum at special or general meetings of the Society is five members, three of whom are Aboriginal Peoples. The Society shall strive to make decisions by consensus at all meetings of the Society and its Board of Directors. Where consensus can not be achieved, decisions will be made by majority vote;
- The fiscal year of the Society shall end on March 31st of each year. At each Annual General Meeting the Secretary-Treasurer shall present the Auditor's signed financial statement detailing assets, liabilities, receipts and disbursements for the previous financial year. Each Annual General Meeting of the Society shall appoint an Auditor for the ensuing fiscal year; and,
- The minutes of the Society may be inspected by any Member of the Society at the Annual General Meeting, or at the Head Office of the Society at any time during normal business hours.

Draft Agenda for the Annual General Meeting of the

Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency

Thursday November 2, 2006 9:00 am – 12:30 pm

Location: Agency Boardroom (Suite 203, 5006 Franklin Avenue, Yellowknife)

1. Opening Prayer

2. Welcome and Agenda Review Bill Ross,

Chairperson

3. Chairperson's Address Bill Ross,

Chairperson

4. Approval of Minutes from 2005 AGM

5. Presentation of Annual Report **Tim Byers**,

Vice-Chairperson

Refreshment Break

6. Treasurer's Report

Jaida Ohokannoak,
Secretary-Treasurer

- Auditors Financial Statement 2005-2006
- Appointment of Auditor
- 7. 2006-2008 Work Plan and Budget Bill Ross,
 Questions and Comments Chairperson
 - Discussion on Environmental Workshop content
- 8. Members' Presentations and Discussion Members
 - Members' Comments
 - Recommendations to Directors
- 9. Other Business
- 10. Closing Remarks

 Bill Ross,
 Chairperson
- 11. Closing Prayer
- 12. Adjournment

Catered Lunch (caribou stew, whitefish, bannock, salad) with a presentation by KIA representatives on the Naonayaotit Traditional Knowledge Project (NTKP)

Aboriginal Society Members Meeting with Directors (1-5 pm)