

<u>Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency</u>

P.O. Box 1192, Yellowknife, NT X1A 2R2 Phone (867) 669 9141 Fax (867) 669 9145

Website: www.monitoringagency.net Email: monitor1@yk.com

September 26, 2005

#### To: Society Members

Akaitcho Treaty 8:

Lutsel K'e First Nation – A/Chief Albert Boucher, Pete Enzoe, Monica Krieger Yellowknives Dene First Nation - Chief Fred Sangris, Chief Peter Liske, Rachel Crapeau BHP Billiton Diamonds Inc: President Sean Brennan, David Scott, Jane Howe Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development: Hon. Andy Scott M.P., David Livingstone, Lionel Marcinkoski

Government of the Northwest Territories: Hon. Michael Miltenberger, M.L.A., Dorris Eggers Kitikmeot Inuit Association: President Donald Havioyak, Jack Kaniak, Geoff Clarke North Slave Metis Alliance: President Bill Enge, Keith Hamilton, Sheryl Grieve Tlicho Government: Grand Chief George Mackenzie, Chief Leon Lafferty, Chief Charlie Football, Chief Harry Gon, Chief Charlie J. Nitsiza, Eddie Erasmus (Chair, LPC)

Re: Notice of Annual General Meeting of the Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency – Friday October 28, 2005

#### **Dear Members:**

We are pleased to announce the 2005 Annual General Meeting of the Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency to be held on the morning of Friday October 28, 2005. The meeting will be held in the Agency's boardroom between 9 am and 12:30 pm, followed by a lunch buffet beginning at noon or when the meeting is finished.

The Annual General Meeting presents an important opportunity for the Directors of the Agency to report on the past years activities and receive direction from the Members for the coming year.

The bylaws of the Agency require a quorum of five Members for the Annual General Meeting; including representation from three of the Aboriginal Members. Therefore we request that you confirm your attendance at your earliest possible convenience. Please contact me at <a href="monitor1@yk.com">monitor1@yk.com</a> or (867) 669-9141 to RSVP, with any concerns or comments regarding the attached agenda, or any other matters. **Please let us know as soon as possible whether you or your organization will need translation services, so we can make the necessary arrangements.** 

We look forward to meeting with you all in the near future.

Sincerely,

-ORIGINAL SIGNED BY-

Kevin O'Reilly, Manager

# NOTICE of the Annual General Meeting

For Members and Directors of the

### **Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency**

Time and Date: Friday October 28, 2005 from 9 am to 12:30 pm (lunch buffet when meeting is finished)

**Location:** Agency Boardroom (Suite 203, 5006 Franklin Avenue, Yellowknife--down the hall from Our Place restaurant)

Society Members: The seven members of the Society include the following organizations and agencies:

- 1. Tlicho Government
- 2. Akaitcho Treaty 8 (specifically, the Yellowknives Dene First Nation and the Lutsel K'e First Nation)
- 3. North Slave Metis Alliance
- 4. Kitikmeot Inuit Association
- 5. BHP Billiton Diamonds Inc.
- 6. Government of Canada
- 7. Government of the Northwest Territories

**Environmental Agreement:** The Environmental Agreement requires the Monitoring Agency to report annually on its findings and recommendations. The eighth Annual Report will be presented at the Annual General Meeting.

Bylaws of the Society: the Bylaws of the Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency Society require that:

- The Board of Directors shall consist of seven (7) directors and the directors, who shall not act in a representative capacity, shall be appointed at the annual general meeting;
- The Annual General Meeting of the Members of the Society shall be held on a date, at a time, and in a place to be determined by the Board of Directors. Notice of the meeting shall be sent to all Members at least thirty (30) days prior to the meeting;
- A quorum at special or general meetings of the Society is five members, three of whom are Aboriginal Peoples. The Society shall strive to make decisions by consensus at all meetings of the Society and its Board of Directors. Where consensus can not be achieved, decisions will be made by majority vote;
- The fiscal year of the Society shall end on March 31st of each year. At each Annual General Meeting the Secretary-Treasurer shall present the Auditor's signed financial statement detailing assets, liabilities, receipts and disbursements for the previous financial year. Each Annual General Meeting of the Society shall appoint an Auditor for the ensuing fiscal year; and,
- The minutes of the Society may be inspected by any Member of the Society at the Annual General Meeting, or at the Head Office of the Society at any time during normal business hours.

#### Agenda for the Annual General Meeting of the

## Independent Environmental Monitoring Agency

Friday October 28, 2005 9:00 am – 12:30 pm

Location: Agency Boardroom (Suite 203, 5006 Franklin Avenue, Yellowknife)

**Opening Prayer** 

Welcome Bill Ross, Chairperson

Chairperson's Address

Bill Ross,
Chairperson

Approval of Minutes from 2004 AGM

Presentation of Annual Report Tim Byers
Vice-Chairperson

Treasurer's Report

Jaida Ohokannoak,
Secretary-Treasurer

- Auditors Financial Statement 2004-2005
- 2005-2007 Work Plan and Budget
  - o questions and comments
- Appointment of Auditor

Member's Presentations and Discussion Members

- Member's Comments
- Recommendations to Directors

Other Business

Closing Remarks

Bill Ross,
Chairperson

Adjournment